Haske – Zainab Donli

interviews

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-06 at 8.00.37 AM

I had the best conversation with Zainab aka ‘Lady Donli’, my first thought was ‘this girl brings light’ i don’t know why i thought so but that was it literally, I couldn’t think of a better way to describe her than ‘Haske’.

IMG-20170525-WA0045

  • Who is Lady Donli ?

Zainab –  Lol the way I hate this question 😂, Lady Donli, is an extension of “Zainab”. My musical extension. Like whenever I leave my house I never introduce myself as Lady Donli. Only time I ever really do is when I’m performing , Even when I work with producers or people or fellow creatives. I’d much rather they call me Zainab or Z , Although Donli is my name and Lady has been a pet name I’ve had since birth.

  • Do you ever get stuck ?

Zainab – I think you have to get stuck in life,that way, when you progress it feels so much better, I have writers blocks, Once in a while. Then it breaks and I write like 3 songs in a day.

  • Whats your philosophy on life ?

Zainab –  I get stuck in life. When I feel like nothing positive is coming my way,that happens a lot cause life is unpredictable. My philosophy on life.. “take everyday as it comes” , I don’t like planning too much, I’m a doer, I know what I want.. I go for it.. I work hard at it . That’s about it.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-06 at 8.00.41 AM

  • So what is your biggest aspiration ?

Zainab – Lady Z: Probably to sell out the O2 Arena, Biggest goal for now.

  • Drifting away from all the serious talk for now, what was your biggest screw up in the kitchen ?

Zainab –  First time I made jollof rice, Awful, well not completely awful, but it wasn’t good.

  • What went wrong ?

Zaianb -Too much water probably, It was just a mess but I’ve learnt now, Chef Donli with the pot.

  • What would you name your boat if you had one ?

Zainab –  Hm, Id name it Julie after my mum ❤

  • That’s cute
    You’re a new addition to a crayon box, what colour would you be and why ?

Zainab – Mustard, cause yellow is beautiful,
my best colour, that or gold.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-06 at 8.00.38 AM

  • What would you do if you inherited a pizzaria from your uncle ?

Zainab – Lmao these are the most random questions ever.. ohm I’d probably sell it, won’t be able to handle such obligations.

  • Ok so if you weren’t making music, what would you be doing ?

Zainab – : Journalism ! Or law probably.. cause I’m a law student
So I’d probably focus on those two things
Used to do news reporting in secondary school loved it ! Wrote articles and news reports as well.. so journalism was a thing. Getting a diploma in that this September as well just to crown my law degree lol since I’m not going to law school.

  • How would you describe yourself and your music in 9 words ?

Zainab – My music is a reflection of my inner self, so yeah I think that’s 9 words, I am my music and vice versa.

  • What genre does your music fall under ?

Zainab –  Genre ? Box less lol , I hate being put in a box .
I make whatever I feel at the time I feel it.

  • Which fictional character would be the most boring to meet in real life ?

Zainab – Hmm 😭. Funny thing is your girl doesn’t watch too much TV , So this is a very difficult question for me.

  • What kind of music do you listen too and which artist do you draw inspiration from ?

Zainab –  Listen to a lot of neo soul, funk, electronic music, afrobeats occasionally ohm, R&B/Soul, hip hop .
Everything really, long as I’m in that particular vibe and it makes me feel good  Erykah Badu
Nneka
André 3000
Greatest influences.

 

Go Listen and Follow her on soundcloud @ladydonli

Leave a Reply

